top of page

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  February 17, 2024

CONTACT: Iowa-Nebraska NAACP 515.288.7171 or

 Iowa-Nebraska NAACP State Area President Betty Andrews Elected to NAACP National Board of Directors!

See Full Press Release Below. 

2024 NAACP Thank You Region IV Betty Andrews.png




Download Press Release |Andrews Photo |Andrews' Regional Thanks


FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE:  February 19, 2024

CONTACT: Iowa-Nebraska NAACP 515.288.7171 or


Des Moines…. Betty Andrews, President of the Iowa-Nebraska NAACP State Area Conference of Branches has been elected to the board of directors for the national NAACP, representing Region IV, also known as the Midwestern Region. Covering the largest geographic area among the seven regions of the NAACP, Region IV spans across 10 states including Colorado, Iowa, Kansas, Nebraska, Missouri, Minnesota, Montana, North Dakota, South Dakota, and Wyoming. Election results were announced during the February 17, 2024 NAACP National Board meeting in New York, NY.


Andrews joins the 64-person board of the nation’s oldest civil rights organization, representing Region IV alongside three other regional representatives. The NAACP has been the nation’s premier civil rights change agent with over 115 years of fighting for racial equity and the elimination of discrimination.  Andrews, who has a track record of successfully advocating for over 25 laws, ordinances and policy changes, will be an important voice on behalf of the region which includes many states with smaller African American populations, but has dealt with some of the nation’s most visible civil rights atrocities including the murders of George Floyd in Minneapolis, MN and Michael Brown in Ferguson, MO. 

In a three-way race, Betty Andrews, a member of the Des Moines, Iowa Branch NAACP won the election over candidates from Missouri and Colorado, securing the seat previously occupied by Dedric Doolin of Cedar Rapids, Iowa. Andrews, expressed her gratitude and dedication to the region, stating, “Region IV is undeniably powerful, and I am dedicated to working collaboratively to ensure our region is empowered and that we thrive together. I will leverage my leadership and expertise to strategically work to ensure that our region is a force for justice and remains at the forefront of progress.”


President Andrews also extended heartfelt thanks and appreciation to Dedric Doolin for his nearly 14 years of service on the National NAACP Board. “Dedric Doolin has been an unwavering beacon of persistence, integrity, and advocacy. His commitment to keeping us informed on the national scope of the NAACP has been instrumental in our pursuit of justice and equality. I can only build upon a groundwork that was laid by him and those that came before us.”  Recognition of Doolin’s contributions is planned for the March 9 Iowa-Nebraska NAACP State Area Conference meeting. Doolin continues to serve as Cedar Rapids Branch President and the Secretary for the Iowa-Nebraska State Area Conference.


Andrews is the owner of the Des Moines based Betty Andrews Media (BAM), a media, events, nonprofit management, and strategic communications firm.  In addition to being President of the Iowa Nebraska NAACP, the civil rights leader’s work includes serving as the Executive Director of I’ll Make Me a World in Iowa, Iowa’s African American Festival, founding the Iowa Summit on Justice & Disparities and successfully championing criminal justice reforms like Executive Order 7, which allows formerly incarcerated Iowans to vote.  Among many other accolades her work has been lauded by President Obama, Google, American Bar Association, Bryan Stevensons Equal Justice Initiative and Iowa National Bar Association. 


For media inquiries contact the Iowa-Nebraska NAACP State Area Conference of branches at 515.288.7171 or  Link | Photo



3. Thrive Together Region pic.png


bottom of page